Skip to main content

About Wendy Dunham - Recording Artist

wendy dunham summer 2012Wendy Dunham - Summer 2012Wendy Dunham is a Recording Artist (ASCAP) and self-taught guitarist and keyboardist, originally from Minneapolis, who now resides in Missouri. She has been playing music since the '70s, starting with acoustic guitar, and later, a 1973 Fender Stratocaster. "I made the move to electric after seeing the European band, Nektar, in concert. I just had to make sustained guitar sounds like that!"

Wendy Dunham worked inside ASI Recording Studio during college where she edited master vocal recordings. She also bought her first JBL L100 speakersafter having been introduced to the nearly identical JBL 4310 Studio Monitors at the studio.

In the early '80s, Wendy got into MIDI recording with the debut of Steinberg's Cubase, eventually becoming a beta tester. In the '90s, her song "The Garden Path at Midnight" received national airplay on a PBS radio show. Wendy Dunham's custom soundtrack work has also accompanied the artwork of Anthony Whelihan, whose video was once demoed at Prince's studio for a possible series.

wendy dunham spring 2018Wendy Dunham - Spring 2018
Now in the 21st century, Wendy Dunham has traded all her MIDI hardware gear for a computer-based digital recording studio using Reason Suite from Reason Studios, because the software doubles as both the recording studio and virtual instruments. Never one to forget her trusty Fender Stratocaster, she uses Reason Suite to mix in live guitar. "With the digital audio tools available today, the playing field really has been leveled between professional recording studios and what you can accomplish on a computer," she beams.

Wendy Dunham's music is a unique combination of electronic music, vibrant soundscapes, eclectic genres, and moments of classic rock guitar. People who have witnessed her blazing lead guitar solos have a hard time labeling her when she creates different genres of music – something not easily categorized. "It's really who I am", she says. "I grew up on rock music and had a real attraction to electric guitar, especially Jimi Hendrix, Peter Frampton, Andy Powell from Wishbone Ash, Joe Walsh, Martin Barre from Jethro Tull, Jimmy Page from Led Zeppelin, and Richie Blackmore from Deep Purple. But with the wide-ranging sound palettes available today for MIDI keyboard, I've expanded my music styles." Using virtual multitrack tools, she plays, records, and masters all her own music for distribution. As an ASCAP recording artist, her music is available on Apple Music (iTunes), Amazon Music, Google Play, Spotify, and numerous other music outlets.

I am all those sounds, all those genres, all that music.
 - Wendy Dunham

wendy dunham's stratocaster and panorama p6 keyboard

wendy dunham 1980Wendy Dunham - 1980


Follow GalxyGirl - Wendy Dunham on Facebook and Twitter

Danz Rockcore on Top 100

DATE: 07/20/2010
ARTIST: Wendy Dunham
CIN: 20100122110

Dear Wendy Dunham,

The International Association of Independent Recording Artists (IAIRA) recognizes and honors artistic achievement, technical proficiency, and overall excellence in a sound recording by monitoring chart activity as published in various reporting charts from around the world. According to our research, on 07/20/2010 the above-referenced release Danz Rockcore, by Wendy Dunham, had attained the Number 55 Position on at least one of the charts monitored and verified by IAIRA. On the basis of that research, IAIRA has qualified the aforementioned release as eligible for Certification as an International 'Top 100'.

iairalogoOn behalf of the entire IAIRA staff and the Recording Arts Community at large, please accept our most sincere Congratulations and Best Wishes for your continued success!

IAIRA Research Team

U R Hear Album released by Wendy Dunham

April 6, 2015 – My new album U R Hear Album released by Wendy Dunham was submitted for distribution today, including Apple Music, Amazon MP3, Google Play, Spotify, CD Baby, Shazam, Rdio, Beats Music, eMusic, Rhapsody, Simfy, Nokia, Xbox Music, MediaNet, Tradebit, Slacker, 24/7, 7digital, Myxer, iHeartRadio, Deezer, Omnifone, Guvera, Sony Music, Muve Music, JB Hi-Fi NOW Music, BOINC, Samsung Music Hub, GreatIndieMusic, Mondia, Rara, YandexMusic, WiMP, and InProdicon. Sync licensing is available.

This album features 15 new songs spanning many genres The album was recorded and produced with Propellerhead's Reason and mastered in iZotope's Ozone:

  1. The Demonstrated Way
  2. Thoughts Become Things
  3. Don't Go Changin'
  4. Acoustical Presence
  5. Lush Beauty
  6. Deep Kong
  7. Danz Rockcore
  8. My Shifting Mind
  9. Retrograde Motion
  10. So Sing Strings
  11. Et Tu
  12. Somewhere to Turn feat. Julianna McDuffie
  13. Landed on Boardwalk
  14. Spy Heels
  15. Thiefdom

After I lost my music recording studio in 1997, I didn't get back into music-making until 2003 when I discovered Reason 2.0 – a virtual rack of music gear and MIDI recording software. But it wasn't until 2009 that they finally added digital audio recording capability to the program. When I finally purchased an audio interface to connect my guitar to the computer in 2011, I discovered that my aging 1973 Stratocaster frets were so worn down from decades of use that the strings buzzed badly when playing. Proper fretting proved expensive enough that I decided to buy a brand new Fender Classic Series '70s Stratocaster® Electric Guitar in 2012. The latest album does features some guitar, with more guitar-centric releases planned for the next album.

U R Hear Album released by Wendy Dunham is available for download at Apple Music  •  CD Baby  •  Google Play  •  Amazon Digital